Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

It's got the lot, Well Done - Rating 5/5

"What do you look for from a great hotel? well we look for Great rooms, Great food, Great staff and a Super location and this hotel has them all. We have a great few days here and the level of attention from the staff was excellent. From start to finish everything was just perfect, thank you James and the staff."

Reviewer:S | Sun 9th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


A touch of Danish \"hygge\" on the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

We've stayed twice at Hillside and really enjoy this oasis of calm and hospitality. Gert exudes Scandinavian "hygge"- the art or providing a warm welcome - and nothing is too much trouble for the team. Rooms are simple but stylish and spotless. Breakfast is always delicious and you can dine at their Bistro in town when the restaurant is closed.

Reviewer:Deborah S | Wed 25th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


holiday visit - Rating 5/5

beatifu;l setting, very warm welcome, gorgeous food, we highly recommend hillside. we originally booked for three nights but extended our stay for a further night.

Reviewer:Russell T | Wed 8th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


short shot of perfect - Rating 5/5

A limited time for a break but this hotel stay delivered just what we needed - we returned to London happy refreshed and dreaming of our return to Hillside.

Reviewer:Ms. Wendy B | Thu 11th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Hillside Ventnor - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and immaculately presented hotel.

Reviewer:Mike M | Tue 19th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Hillside Ventnor - Rating 5/5

really lovely one night stay. Lovely clean comfortable rooms and both dinner and breakfast were excellent but most importantly we were made really welcome. There were also some nice surprises in the rooms;personal touches not out of a formula/design book.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter N | Wed 22nd Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Winter break in Ventnor - Rating 5/5

We spent four nights at Hillside in February this year. We enjoyed every minute of our stay, despite typically unpredictable winter weather, hail and rainbows one minute and brilliant sunshine the next. Just the thing for strenuous walks along the coast. The team at Hillside went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Ms. Judith Serota| Wed 8th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


What a fabulous place! - Rating 5/5

I really loved my brief stay at The Hillside. The house is so bright and beautiful, inside and out, with incredible views and a wonderful welcome. There were even white doves outside my window when I woke up in the morning, adding to the magical atmosphere of the place.I wish I could have stayed longer, but hope to return in the not too distant future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances W | Thu 26th Mar 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect short stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at Hillside over the start of the New Year.Gert was the perfect host, making our stay very special.The rooms were extremely comfortable and the two lounges were perfect places to relax.There was great attention to detail and we will certainly visit again.

Reviewer:Tim L | Mon 2nd Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


An incredible weekend in Ventnor - Rating 5/5

I arranged a weekend break to celebrate the impending 25th wedding annuversary of one of the attendees.The group of five arrived and were immediately greeted on arrival by the owner, who must have had a sixth sense that we had arrived, such was the efficiency and warmth of greeting we all received.Our rooms were impeccable and the hotel and its surroundings second to none.Our breakfasts were first class and set us up impeccably for the day's activities.A highlight was the dinenr we booked at the restarant on site - the food was outstanding and the list of fine wines available were immaculate.I am looking forward to going back to Ventnor with my partner for a romantic weekend and Hillside will undoubtedbnly be the first and only place we will choose to stayIn summary, a fabulous venue, impeccable service, the most warm and cordial hosts and excellent food.Put simply, I cannot wait to come back again.

Reviewer:Mark E | Fri 5th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


hillside - Rating 5/5

Fourth time we have stayed at Hillside and the excellent standard continues.Beautifully decorated and set in an oustanding garden.Gert and the team are all very friendly and helpful.A great setting for a special break.

Reviewer:Mr. HaydnJ | Tue 1st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

This is a beautiful hotel. We stayed in the stables so had the benefit of kitchen facilities which was great for having a cup of coffee or early evening drink. The gardens of this property are a particular feature and sitting on the terrace enjoying the view is delightful. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as it was closed for our stay but the food at the bistro also owned by Hillside was very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Maxwell P | Thu 12th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Just returned..... - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a two night stay - warm and friendly, understated, but spot on hospitality.Rooms smallish, but well designed in a minimalist way.Bed comfortable with good quality bed linen.Will be returning to Hillside on our next visit without a doubt!

Reviewer:Mrs. Susanne G | Mon 2nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Saying it all - Rating 5/5

Apart from the Oriental Bangkok this is the only hotelto which we would wish to return

Reviewer:Brian H | Mon 26th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Relaxing break on the Isle of Wight - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay.A very comfortable, relaxing and friendly hotel with great attention to detail. Beautiful grounds and welcoming hosts. Good breakfasts and excellent, good value food at the bistro in the centre of Ventnor.We will undoubtedly return.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris P | Fri 18th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Hillside, Ventnor, IOW - Rating 4/5

Accommodation was lovely and Gert made us feel very welcome.Food at the Bistro was excellent.Have already recommended Hillside to some friends :)

Reviewer:Mrs. Filomena A | Tue 1st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

We honeymooned here for a weekend. The team made every effort to make our stay incredibly special.We can't reccomend this dependent, comfortable hotel and it's delicious sister bistro enough.

Reviewer:Mr. Edward C | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


Warm and welcoming - a perfect stay - Rating 5/5

This beautifully restored 18th century home was the perfect setting for a relaxing break near the sea. Gert and his team were gracious and did their utmost to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. The rooms were immaculate and I had one of the best vegetarian full English breakfasts EVER.My husband and I travelled from London without a car and were pleased to learn it was easy reach the hotel by public transport.Bus #3 is your best bet and drives right past the hotel. (The island's bus system fantastic and doubled as our scenic tour provider;and the drivers are very skilled at getting through those narrow country lanes!)We will definitely be returning. Hopefully next time for a longer stay!

Reviewer:Mr. Simon N | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


The perfect hideaway - Rating 5/5

It has been a delight staying at such a beautiful and special place as the Hillside Hotel. This place has a special energy and thanks to the attention and care of the staff we just felt treated like very good friends. The rooms are so welcoming and cozy and the scandinavian interior design is a perfect match with the vibrant paintings -,each room has different originals- it was just an immense pleasure staying there. The breakfast with homemade yogurt and muesli was simply delicious and dinner in the Bistro ,which is owned by the hotel, was fantastic .We had a Bouillabaise which couldn't have been better in France and aexcellent risotto ai funghi .The beetroot tart is exeptional and the specially imported redGassac wine addictive...dinner the next day at the hotel was at the same heightwe are definitely looking forward to come back soon whenever we feel the need to escape from harsh reality of a big city

Reviewer:Mrs. Vivian B | Sun 2nd Mar 2014 | 4 years ago


4.9
Very Good

19 reviews

5
95%
4
5%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%